Close this search box.


Beyond Order- 12 More Rules for Life by Jordan Peterson

Beyond Order: 12 More Rules for Life by Jordan Peterson

Read Book Review

Jordan Peterson’s latest book, “Beyond Order: 12 More Rules for Life,” is a profound exploration of the human psyche and the quest for meaning in life. Building upon the success of his previous bestseller, Peterson delves even deeper into his philosophy on human nature, morality, and psychology. The book is an insightful and thought-provoking read that will appeal to his devoted followers and those new to his ideas.

The book is divided into twelve chapters; each focused on a different “rule.” From “Do Not Carelessly Denigrate Social Institutions or Creative Achievement” to “Assume That the Person You Are Listening To Might Know Something You Don’t,” each chapter provides a unique perspective on how to live a meaningful and fulfilling life. Peterson draws on his experiences, scientific research, historical events, and cultural traditions to create a compelling and thought-provoking narrative.

One of the book’s strengths is Peterson’s willingness to challenge conventional wisdom. He encourages readers to think critically about societal norms and institutions and to consider alternative ways of approaching complex problems. For example, in the chapter “Do Not Allow Yourself to Become Resentful, Deceitful, or Arrogant,” Peterson argues that these common human tendencies can lead to societal collapse if unchecked. He urges readers to recognize these behaviors’ adverse effects and strive for personal responsibility and self-improvement.

Another strength of the book is Peterson’s ability to weave together seemingly disparate ideas and concepts to create a cohesive narrative. He draws on mythology, religious symbolism, and scientific research to make his points, often citing examples from literature and history to illustrate his arguments. While this approach may be overwhelming, it provides a rich, textured reading experience that engages readers.


However, some readers may find Peterson’s reliance on mythology and religious symbolism a drawback. His frequent references to biblical stories and archetypes may be off-putting to those who are not religious or do not share his views. Additionally, his tendency to make sweeping generalizations and to present his opinions as fact may alienate readers who prefer more nuanced arguments.


One of the standout chapters in the book is “Do Not Let Your Children Do Anything That Makes You Dislike Them.” Peterson argues that it is the responsibility of parents to instill values and discipline in their children and that failing to do so can lead to chaos and dysfunction in the family unit. To make his case, he draws on personal experiences and research on child development and psychology. While some readers may disagree with his views on parenting, the chapter is compelling and provides valuable insights into the importance of parental guidance in a child’s life.


Another chapter that will resonate with readers is “Do Not Overestimate Your Own IQ or Underestimate the IQ of Others.” Peterson argues that intelligence is not the sole measure of a person’s worth and that overemphasizing it can lead to hubris and elitism. He urges readers to value emotional intelligence and empathy and to recognize the contributions of people who may not have high IQs but possess other valuable traits.

The book “Beyond Order: 12 More Rules for Life” presents a stimulating and contemplative reading experience, prompting introspection and discourse. While some individuals may perceive Peterson’s use of religious imagery and generalizations as unappealing, his adeptness in integrating diverse sources to form a coherent narrative is noteworthy. This book appeals to those who seek to investigate alternative outlooks on ethics, psychology, and civilization and are prepared to confront challenging concepts.

Follow Us

Popular Posts

Featured Videos

Scroll to Top